access judaism

The Melanie Grohman z"l* Access Judaism program is a relevant and empowering adult learning program in a fun, relaxed environment

 

This program features a broad spectrum of thoughtfully curated Jewish subjects in the realms of history, rituals, culture, philosophy, law, and spirituality. These interactive classes, which include post-class reflection questions, can also count towards requirements of conversion or adult b'nai mitzvah ceremonies.

 

Classes are open to students entering with a diversity of backgrounds from those well versed in Jewish life to those new to Jewish learning. There is a place for everyone in this program.

 

​This course is taught over Zoom in two sessions of 8 classes each. The classes are flexible and are designed so that a person can choose to take one class, several, a whole session, or both sessions. Suggested donation for one class is $25, one session is $180 and the full program is $300. No one will be turned away for lack of funds.

 

The Course features classes in philosophy, theology, culture, history, liturgy, and more!

 

Mondays at noon PT/ 1p MT/ 2pm CT/ 3pm ET:

Access Judaism: SESSION 1:

10/31 Personal Inventory of Belief

11/7 Radical Responsibility for the World

11/14 Demystifying Denominational Differences

11/21 The Flavors of the Holy Books

11/28 One for Every Mood: The Jewish Holidays

12/5 Jewish Intermarriage: A History

12/12 The Righteous Economic Vision of the Rabbis

11/19 The Kabbalistic Non-Binary God

 

Access Judaism SESSION 2:

1/9 The Intelligent Design of the Prayer Service

1/23 Reform Renovations of the Prayerbook

1/30 Rituals as Markers of Transition

2/6 The Characteristics of a Good Jew

2/13 Slam Poetry in the Golden Age

2/27 Bad Theology: Terrible Explanations of Why The Righteous Suffer

3/6 Siblings or Cousins?: Jews and Christians in the First Century

3/13 Before You Die, Consider These Rabbinic Thoughts

Register for both 8-class sessions, one 8-class session, or for individual classes a-la-carte when you click on an upcoming Access Judaism class on our events calendar:

keepingitsacred.com/upcoming-1

 

Have a question about Access Judaism? Rabbi Miller would love to hear from you!

*This series is named after our beloved Keeping It Sacred community member, 

the late Melanie Grohman, may her memory be for a blessing, who loved learning

about Judaism and our community. Her memory is a blessing.

51BFAF4D-2C4A-4BCE-B173-FCCD6881A169.jpg